We now offer SBA 504 Loans! Low Rates - Up to 90% Financing
Biddeford, ME 207-282-1748

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is comprised of 18 business and municipal leaders from York County and the State of Maine including: 2 City of Biddeford appointees, 2 City of Saco appointees, 2 Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council appointees, 1 Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce & Industry appointee, 1 Kennebunk Development Corporation appointee, 1 Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission appointee and 9 internally elected directors (3 Biddeford-Saco residents or business owners, 3 York County residents or business owners and 3 State of Maine residents or business owners). Each of these directors brings unique experience and perspective on economic development initiatives in the region and the State.

Directors pictured (L-R):
Lorraine Boston, Betty Olson, Jan Williams, Andy Kany, Dick Hodgdon, Richard Olsen, Mathew Eddy, Paul Schumacher, Jim Nimon and Denise Clavette. (Not pictured:  Marshall Archer, Alan Casavant, Robert Georgitis, Brian Haley, Ayn Hanselmann, Keith Jacques and Robert Nadeau)

SMFA Board of Directors

Board Chair:

Jan Williams, Retired Accountant, Hiram & Portland, Maine. Mr. Williams is is a York County Elected Director, and currently serves as SMFA’s Chair. He also serves as the Chair of the Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission’s (SMPDC) Executive Committee. 

Immediate Past Chair:

Dick Hodgdon, Retired Manager, Maine Department of Labor Saco, Maine. Mr. Hodgdon is a Biddeford-Saco Elected Director, and he is the immediate Past Chair of the SMFA Board. He is a graduate of the University of Maine in Augusta with a BS in Business Management and is a US Army Veteran of the Vietnam era. He has 25 years of professional experience directing the Labor Exchange System in Southern Maine. In addition to his activities with us, he has served on the Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce & Industry and the Main Street Saco Board of Directors.


Vice Chair
Lorraine Boston, Retired bank officer, Sanford. Mrs. Boston is a York County Elected Director, and she currently serves as SMFA’s Vice-Chair. She is a graduate of America’s Community Banker Senior Leadership and New England School of Banking at Williams College. She is an alum of the Leadership Maine program with extensive experience in financial institutions and lending. Currently Mrs. Boston serves as Chair of the York Hospital Board of Directors as well as a committee member of the Greater Portland Council of Governments and Financial Advisor for the York County Community Foundation.

Keith Jacques, Esq., Partner, Woodman, Edmands, Danylik, Austin, Smith & Jacques, P.A., Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Jacques is a Biddeford-Saco Elected Director, and serves as the Agency’s Secretary.

Richard Olsen,
 CFO, Southern Maine Health Care, Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Olsen is a York County Elected Director, and serves as SMFA’s Treasurer.

Board of Directors:

Marshall Archer, Councilor, Ward 1, City of Saco, Maine. Councilor Archer is a representative of the City of Saco.

Alan Casavant, Mayor, City of Biddeford, Maine. Mayor Alan Casavant serves on the Board as a representative of the City of Biddeford. Mayor Casavant is a former Biddeford City Council and Council President. He taught Psychology and American Studies, Global Studies, and U.S. History at Biddeford High School until his retirement in 2011. Mayor Casavant served four terms serving Maine House District 137 covering Biddeford and Kennebunkport, and is termed out.

Denise Clavette, Planning & Development Director, City of Saco, Maine. Mrs. Clavette is a representative of the City of Saco by virtue of her position.

Mathew Eddy, Director of Economic Development, City of Biddeford, Maine. Mr. Eddy is a representative of the City of Biddeford by virtue of his position.

Robert Georgitis, President of the Kennebunk Development Corporation (KDC) and is the KDC representative on the SMFA Board. Mr Georgitis is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire and has a Masters of Community Planning from the University of Rhode Island. He brings over 40 years of public and private sector planning and development.

Brian Haley, President and CEO of Haley’s Metal Shop, Inc., and is a Biddeford-Saco Elected Director. Haley’s Metal Shop is a 5 generation HVAC contractor located in Biddeford with over 100 years of service. He is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire with Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Ayn Hanselmann, Ayn is a certified public accountant and is a representative of the Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council. She is a graduate of the University of Maine at Orono and has been practicing in public accounting for over twenty years providing accounting. Ayn serves as a City Councilor in the City of Sanford and is active on numerous community boards and committees in Sanford.

Andy Kany, Biddeford-Saco Chamber of Commerce & Industry Representative, Biddeford Maine. 

Robert Nadeau, Retired bank officer, Scarborough, Maine and is a State Elected Director.

Jim Nimon, Executive Director of the Sanford Regional Economic Growth Council, SREGC  Sanford, Maine. Mr. Nimon is a representative of the Sanford by virtue of his position at SREGC. He is a graduate of the University of Maine and has worked extensively in state government in the Maine Department of Economic & Community Development as well as a Senior Economic Advisor in the Office of the Governor.

Betty Olson, Commercial Loan Officer, Scarborough, Maine and is a State Elected Director.

Paul Schumacher, Executive Director of Southern Maine Planning & Development Commission (SMPDC), Saco, Maine. Mr. Schumacher is the SMPDC representative by virtue of his position. He is a graduate of the University of New Hampshire with a Master’s degree from Tufts University. Paul has almost 30 years of experience in planning and urban development in the public and private sectors in Maine and Massachusetts.

Loan Committee

The Loan Committee is composed of 10 individuals, including seven appointed by the Board of Directors and three representatives of the agency’s Board of Directors. The Committee is made up of citizens from York County with backgrounds or expertise in financial risk management, commercial lending or legal issues related to commercial lending. The Loan Committee is responsible for administering the loan activity of the Agency in compliance with loan program policies, procedures and requirements.